Adding Digsites

Game structure files (fslhunt.ini, eng.txt, research.ini, constant.ini, bldmenu.ini, etc)

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby SlayerVI » Sat, 6th Jun 2009 20:13

Okay, first off, I know that this is a super old topic. But I have a question that actually applies to the topic.

About the location of the digsites, the positions (EX. Flaming Cliffs locations are {226, 80} and {397, 83}) don't match up to real coordinates, so how would I place something at a certain coordinate? Or is the position a certain set of pixels on an image? Please respond, and please, don't warn me because I read the entire topic and it doesn't look like I can get an answer. *Prepares to get beaten within an inch of life with warn stick*
Kill 'em All--Bow down to the Phantom Lord...
Ride the Lightning--I have lost the will to live... simply nothing more to give...
Master of Puppets--Master! MASTER!!
And Justice For All...--Believer Deceiver! Day in day out live my life through you!
User avatar
SlayerVI
Harmless Carnivore
Harmless Carnivore
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun, 31st May 2009 21:39
Location: Don't look up.
Gender: Male
User Title: Ride the Lightning

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Legion » Sun, 7th Jun 2009 10:29

You won't get warned, this is a relevant question.

See, I always positioned my digsites on a try and check setting, but if you want to know for sure, extract the world map from its tml, open it in your image editing software and check the coordinates where the digsite would be.
User avatar
Legion
Park Admin
Park Admin
 
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri, 5th Jan 2007 23:34
Location: Portugal
Gender: Male
User Title: da webmastah!

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby SlayerVI » Sun, 7th Jun 2009 16:04

Thanks, I'll try that. Which file is the world map in? You say it's in a TML, but what would the name be, and what file would it be in?

EDIT: Is this the correct format for adding dinos?
Code: Select all
}
// DASANPU ---------------------------------------------------------------

HuntingGround[Dashanpu]
{
   title      = $FossilHunt_TendaguruBeds_Title;
   period      = Jurassic;
   location   = Asia;
   matlib      = "dinos_dashanpu";

   reqdinos   = { brach, kentro, Allo, SRaptor };
   linkedtoset = 1;   // Linked to an unlocking set

   cost      = 0;
   gold      = 20;

//   position   = {226, 10};
   position   = {397, 40};
   texture      = "FslHunt_fossil2";

   DigSite[river1]
   {
      type         = plains;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_1";
      position      = {168, 53};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_River;
      teams         = 2;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
   DigSite[river2]
   {
      type         = plains;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_2";
      position      = {213, 149};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_River;
      teams         = 3;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
   DigSite[mountain]
   {
      type         = mountain;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_3";
      position      = {67, 211};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_Plains;
      teams         = 4;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
}


This is a new digsite for the Dashanpu formation in China. Tell me if there's anything I need to change.
Kill 'em All--Bow down to the Phantom Lord...
Ride the Lightning--I have lost the will to live... simply nothing more to give...
Master of Puppets--Master! MASTER!!
And Justice For All...--Believer Deceiver! Day in day out live my life through you!
User avatar
SlayerVI
Harmless Carnivore
Harmless Carnivore
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun, 31st May 2009 21:39
Location: Don't look up.
Gender: Male
User Title: Ride the Lightning

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Anewguy » Fri, 13th Nov 2009 16:14

Is this an old topic?
Well anyway can we make our own TML file?
Copying some skins from different TMLs.
????
Aaargh its coming... Its coming...... ITS ITS....... cow?
Anewguy
Fodder
Fodder
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun, 1st Mar 2009 18:39
Location: Finnland
Gender: Male
User Title: Member

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Reprieve » Fri, 13th Nov 2009 17:43

Yes it is, check the age of the last post
Image
User avatar
Reprieve
Park Admin
Park Admin
 
Posts: 6148
Joined: Thu, 17th Apr 2008 16:43
Location: In your worst nightmare
Gender: Male
User Title: flagellum dei

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Nick3069 » Fri, 13th Nov 2009 22:18

Anewguy wrote:can we make our own TML file?
Copying some skins from different TMLs.
????

Yes, make a dino skin TML and call it either decals.tml, terrain.tml, or gui_frontend.tml. All 3 of those names are not used, (except for gui_frontend.tml, but it contains nothing but the TML header) but are recognized by the EXE. I'm surprised nobody used this trick yet. :facepalm:

There is a more complex way to do this, and I'm planning on making a tutorial about it eventually.
Image
User avatar
Nick3069
Harmless Carnivore
Harmless Carnivore
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat, 15th Sep 2007 16:39
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
User Title: The Raptor King

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Anewguy » Sun, 15th Nov 2009 18:42

[/quote]
Yes, make a dino skin TML and call it either decals.tml, terrain.tml, or gui_frontend.tml. All 3 of those names are not used, (except for gui_frontend.tml, but it contains nothing but the TML header) but are recognized by the EXE. I'm surprised nobody used this trick yet. :facepalm:

There is a more complex way to do this, and I'm planning on making a tutorial about it eventually.[/quote]
Good :stoned:
Aaargh its coming... Its coming...... ITS ITS....... cow?
Anewguy
Fodder
Fodder
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun, 1st Mar 2009 18:39
Location: Finnland
Gender: Male
User Title: Member

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Raging Raptor » Fri, 20th Nov 2009 0:36

Yes, make a dino skin TML and call it either decals.tml, terrain.tml, or gui_frontend.tml. All 3 of those names are not used, (except for gui_frontend.tml, but it contains nothing but the TML header) but are recognized by the EXE. I'm surprised nobody used this trick yet. :facepalm:

There is a more complex way to do this, and I'm planning on making a tutorial about it eventually.


I would prefer a non complex way to do things. Production of something useful requires user-simplicity over user-complexity. Take something complex (like that) and make it simple. That's how you can make something useful. :)
Image
₪"Untutored courage is useless in the face of educated bullets"₪
-General Patton
User avatar
Raging Raptor
Feisty Herbivore
Feisty Herbivore
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Tue, 19th May 2009 2:13
Location: Google it.
Gender: Male
User Title: Call me whatever home slice.

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Nick3069 » Fri, 20th Nov 2009 4:03

Raging Raptor wrote:I would prefer a non complex way to do things.

I just said the easy way. :hehee: Sure, I didn't go into to many details because most of the other information you need is on page 1. Besides, the "more complex way" is simply editing a file with a HEX editor, and almost every modder here knows how to do that.
Image
User avatar
Nick3069
Harmless Carnivore
Harmless Carnivore
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat, 15th Sep 2007 16:39
Location: Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
User Title: The Raptor King

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Raging Raptor » Fri, 20th Nov 2009 22:57

Nick3069 wrote:
Raging Raptor wrote:I would prefer a non complex way to do things.

I just said the easy way. :hehee: Sure, I didn't go into to many details because most of the other information you need is on page 1. Besides, the "more complex way" is simply editing a file with a HEX editor, and almost every modder here knows how to do that.

You said

There is a more complex way to do this, and I'm planning on making a tutorial about it eventually.


I thought you meant that there is an even MORE complex way of doing this, and you where going to post a tutorial of it. That's sure what it sounded like.
Image
₪"Untutored courage is useless in the face of educated bullets"₪
-General Patton
User avatar
Raging Raptor
Feisty Herbivore
Feisty Herbivore
 
Posts: 672
Joined: Tue, 19th May 2009 2:13
Location: Google it.
Gender: Male
User Title: Call me whatever home slice.

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby barret-rex » Sat, 5th Nov 2011 16:40

SlayerVI wrote:Thanks, I'll try that. Which file is the world map in? You say it's in a TML, but what would the name be, and what file would it be in?

EDIT: Is this the correct format for adding dinos?
Code: Select all
}
// DASANPU ---------------------------------------------------------------

HuntingGround[Dashanpu]
{
   title      = $FossilHunt_TendaguruBeds_Title;
   period      = Jurassic;
   location   = Asia;
   matlib      = "dinos_dashanpu";

   reqdinos   = { brach, kentro, Allo, SRaptor };
   linkedtoset = 1;   // Linked to an unlocking set

   cost      = 0;
   gold      = 20;

//   position   = {226, 10};
   position   = {397, 40};
   texture      = "FslHunt_fossil2";

   DigSite[river1]
   {
      type         = plains;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_1";
      position      = {168, 53};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_River;
      teams         = 2;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
   DigSite[river2]
   {
      type         = plains;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_2";
      position      = {213, 149};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_River;
      teams         = 3;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
   DigSite[mountain]
   {
      type         = mountain;
      texture         = "FslHunt_DigSite_3";
      position      = {67, 211};
      title         = $FossilHunt_DigSite_Plains;
      teams         = 4;
      digtime         = 1.0;
   }
}


This is a new digsite for the Dashanpu formation in China. Tell me if there's anything I need to change.

With the addition of DIG SITES MAY BE USED FOR NEW DINOSAURS try it
Last edited by barret-rex on Wed, 31st Oct 2012 15:13, edited 1 time in total.
progressing in tmd editing
Image
User avatar
barret-rex
Fodder
Fodder
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun, 15th May 2011 21:31
Location: cali, colombia
Gender: Male
User Title: the one jurassic park with sarcosuchus

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby jfgoofy » Thu, 5th Jul 2012 0:31

Nick3069 wrote:
Anewguy wrote:can we make our own TML file?
Copying some skins from different TMLs.
????

Yes, make a dino skin TML and call it either decals.tml, terrain.tml, or gui_frontend.tml. All 3 of those names are not used, (except for gui_frontend.tml, but it contains nothing but the TML header) but are recognized by the EXE. I'm surprised nobody used this trick yet. :facepalm:

There is a more complex way to do this, and I'm planning on making a tutorial about it eventually.


Can we make them have more dinos without tmls?
jfgoofy
Park Visitor
Park Visitor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 16th Apr 2012 0:29
Gender: Male
User Title: Member

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Dark_Ansem » Thu, 5th Jul 2012 23:08

can you put more, realistic digsites in the next GEP version? please?
Dark_Ansem
Park Visitor
Park Visitor
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue, 3rd Jul 2012 21:35
Gender: Male
User Title: Member

Re: Adding Digsites

Unread postby Green Grass » Sat, 21st Jul 2012 10:02

Hi, I created a new dig site and I would like to put it in madagasgar but I have absolutely no idea what the coordinates would be so could someone please tell me. Thanks :) .
Nyan?
Nyan?
Heheheheheh!
User avatar
Green Grass
Park Visitor
Park Visitor
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat, 30th Jun 2012 10:49
Gender: Male
User Title: Gaghiel

Previous

Return to Gameplay

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Help keep this forum ad-free - please Donate


This free, ad-free forum is hosted by ForumLaunch